International Mathematical Congress 2010, Hyderabad

ICM 2010

The World cup of Mathematics, is to be held over here @ Hyderabad, India after the stipulated gap of four years. It’s the largest congress of Mathematics Internationally and organized every four years by International Mathematical Union (IMU). The Fields Medals, the Nevanlinna Prize, and the Gauss Prize are awarded during the congress’ opening ceremony. In the 2010 ICM, a new prize also will be awarded, the Chern Medal Award.  This is one event where you can see all the eminent mathematical visionaries of our times, and it’s really great that this time this supernova would be held in India this year!

A peek at the prize winners of ICM 2010, India:

Yves Meyer winner of Gauss prize, ICM 2010

Yves Meyer

Carl Friedrich Gauss Prize – Yves Meyer

Yves Meyer, Professor Emeritus at École Normale Supérieure de Cachan, France, has been selected for the 2010 Gauss Prize for fundamental contributions to number theory, operator theory and harmonic analysis, and his pivotal role in the development of wavelets and multiresolution analysis.

Daniel Spielman, winner of Nevalinna prize ICM 2010 India

Daniel Spielman of Yale University, USA

Rolf Nevanlinna Prize – Daniel Spielman

Daniel Spielman of Yale University, USA, has been chosen for the 2010 Rolf Nevanlinna Prize for smoothed analysis of Linear Programming, algorithms for graph-based codes and applications of graph theory to Numerical Computing.Spielman has won several awards and honours earlier, chief among them being the Fulkerson Prize, jointly awarded by the American Mathematical Society (AMS) and the Mathematical Programming Society (MPS) in 2009; the Gödel Prize jointly awarded by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) for Spielman and Teng’s paper on ‘Smoothed analysis of algorithms: Why the simplex algorithm usually takes polynomial time’.

Louis Nirenberg, Winners of Chern Medal, ICM 2010

Louis Nirenberg, Courant Inst. of Mathematical Sciences

Chern Medal – Louis Nirenberg

Louis Nirenberg of Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, New York University (NYU), has been selected to be the first recipient of the Chern Medal for his role in the formulation of the modern theory of non-liner elliptic partial differential equations and for mentoring numerous students and post-docs in this area.Nirenberg has received several awards and honours, chief among them being the American Mathematical Society’s Bôcher Prize in 1959 for his work on PDEs, Jeffrey-Williams Prize of the Canadian Mathematical Society in 1987 and the Steele Prize of the AMS in 1994 for Lifetime Achievement. In 1982 he (along with late V. I. Arnold) was the first recipient in mathematics of the Crafoord Prize, established by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in areas not covered by the Nobel Prizes. In 1995 he received the National Medal of Science, the highest honour in the U. S. for contributions to science.

Stanislov Smirnov winner of Fields Medal

Stanislov Smirnov, Université de Genève,Switzerland

Fields Medal – Stanislav Smirnov

Stanislav Smirnov is being awarded the 2010 Fields medal for the proof of conformal invariance of percolation and the planar Ising model in statistical physics.Currently in Université de Genève,Switzerland.
Smirnov works in analysis, dynamical systems, probability and mathematical physics. His distinctions include the St. Petersburg Mathematical Society Prize (1997), the Clay Research Award (2001), the Salem Prize (2001), the Gran Gustafsson Research Prize (2001), the Rollo Davidson Prize (2002), the European Mathematical Society Prize (2004). His research is supported by the European Research Council and the Swiss National Science Foundation.

Ngo Bau Chau winner of Fields Medal, ICM 2010

Ngo Bau Chau, Princeton University

Fields Medal – Ngô Bảo Châu

Ngô Bảo Châu is being awarded the 2010 Fields Medal for for his proof of the Fundamental Lemma in the theory of automorphic forms through the introduction of new algebro-geometric methods.In September 2010, he will start his new appointment at the University of Chicago.He is currently Professor in the Faculté des Sciences at Orsay and Member of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton.In 2007, he was awarded the Sophie Germain prize and the Oberwolfach prize.

Cedric Villani, winner of Fields Medal, ICM 2010

Cedric Villani, Institut Henri Poincaré,Paris

Fields Medal – Cédric Villani

Cédric Villani is being awarded the 2010 Fields Medal for his proofs of nonlinear Landau damping and convergence to equilibrium for the Boltzmann equation.His awards include the Jacques Herbrand Prize of the French Academy of Science (2007), the Prize of the European Mathematical Society (2008), the Henri Poincaré Prize of the International Association for Mathematical Physics, and the Fermat Prize (2009). In 2009 he was appointed director of the Institut Henri Poincaré (IHP) in Paris, and part-time visitor of the Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques (IHES).

Elon Lindenstrauss, winner of fields medal ,ICM 2010

Elon Lindenstrauss, Princeton University, New Jersey

Fields Medal – Elon Lindenstrauss

Elon Lindenstrauss is being awarded the 2010 Fields Medal for his results on measure rigidity in ergodic theory, and their applications to number theory.He will join Department of Mathematics, Hebrew University, Givat Ram Campus, Jerusalem from september 2010, currently in Princeton University.

(Image and Information Reference: ICM 2010 website)